Worthless Check Charges in Florida
In Florida, it is a criminal offense to knowingly give another person a worthless check as payment for goods or some service rendered. The same applies to stopping payment on a check for the purpose of committing fraud. These offenses may be charged as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the value of the check written. Generally speaking, a worthless check offense will be charged as a felony if it was valued at $150 or more.
Penalties for Worthless Checks in Florida
Following are the specific penalties which may be imposed upon a conviction for issuing a bad check or for stopping payment on a check in Florida:
- Issuing a worthless check, valued at less than $150 - first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
- Issuing a worthless check or stopping payment on a check for the purpose of committing fraud, valued at $150 or more - third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in state prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Arrested for writing a worthless check in Miami?
Talking to a criminal defense attorney is an important step to take if you are currently facing criminal charges for issuing a worthless check. With over a decade of experience as a trial attorney and a complete dedication to his clients' cases, Miami criminal defense lawyer Michael Mirer can offer you the level of legal counsel you need in these situations to fight your charges. Your initial consultation with Attorney Mirer is free, and this will be a valuable opportunity for you to learn more about what can be done to positively impact your case.
Contact a Miami criminal attorney at the Law Office of Michael Mirer, P.A. today if you would like to learn more about how you can fight your worthless check charges.