The Florida 10-20-Life Law
Miami Criminal Defense Attorney
In Florida, firearm offenses are harshly prosecuted. This is evidenced in Florida's 10-20-Life law, also called "Use a Gun and You're Done!" Under the 10-20-Life law, harsh mandatory minimum sentences are imposed for defendants who use guns in the commission of crimes. This law covers the following offenses in particular:
- Felon in possession of a gun - mandatory minimum 3 year prison sentence
- Brandishing a gun in the commission of a crime - mandatory minimum 10 year sentence
- Discharging a gun in the commission of a crime - mandatory minimum 20 year sentence
- Injuring or killing another person in the commission of a crime, by discharging a firearm - 25 years to life in state prison
Florida's 10-20-Life law may leave you facing 10, 20 or 25 years in a state prison for the offense, or possibly lifetime imprisonment. This is nothing that should be dealt with lightly.
Talking to Miami criminal lawyer Michael Mirer is of the utmost importance if you or someone you know is facing any type of
violent crime charge related to the use of a gun in the commission of a crime. You need aggressive legal counsel to challenge your charges and to counteract the tireless efforts law enforcement and the prosecuting attorney will make to put you behind bars for as long as they can.
Criminal Lawyer for Gun Charges in Miami, Florida
Whether you have been accused of pulling out a gun or discharging a weapon in the commission of a crime, you may be at risk of facing 10 or 20 years in prison. You may face 25 years to life if anyone is injured as a result. With over a decade of trial experience and having handled more than 1000 cases, our team at the Law Office of Michael Mirer, P.A. has what it takes to protect your rights and future.
Contact our firm today to speak with a dedicated lawyer about your Miami, Florida 10-20-Life charges.